Thursday, September 29, 2005

Thank You, Sir. We'd Like Another 

Our peripatetic colleague Bob Geiger of Yellow Dog Blog, whose acquaintance we were greatly pleased to make on Tuesday at our local chapter of Drinking Liberally to Forget, has just posted the list of Senate Democrats who voted to confirm Judicial Man of Mystery John G. Roberts as Chief Justice of the Supreme Court:
  • Max Baucus (D - MT)
  • Jeff Bingaman (D - NM)
  • Robert Byrd (D - WV)
  • Thomas Carper (D - DE)
  • Kent Conrad (D - ND)
  • Christopher Dodd (D - CT)
  • Byron Dorgan (D - ND)
  • Russell Feingold (D - WI)
  • Tim Johnson (D - SD)
  • Herb Kohl (D - WI)
  • Mary Landrieu (D - LA)
  • Patrick Leahy (D - VT)
  • Carl Levin (D - MI)
  • Joseph Lieberman (D - CT)
  • Blanche Lincoln (D - AR)
  • Patty Murray (D - WA)
  • Bill Nelson (D - FL)
  • Ben Nelson (D - NE)
  • Mark Pryor (D - AR)
  • Jay Rockefeller (D - WV)
  • Ken Salazar (D - CO)
  • Ron Wyden (D - OR)
The dilemma: while our elected representatives have surely figured out that there is no benefit to be had from toadying to Republicans, who expect it as their due, they are also well aware that there is no price to be paid for betraying the values of liberal and progressive Democrats, who likewise expect it as their due. Mr. Geiger notes that eight of the "yea" voters above will be running for re-election next year, and supplies a handy list for you to clip and save.

Elsewhere, our stouthearted colleagues at Cursor direct our attention to the website of media critic and documentary filmmaker Danny Schechter, who has posted a couple of interesting frame captures from video footage of the infamous "Brooks Brothers Riot" of 2000, in which a mob of GOP activists successfully intimidated Miami-Dade election officials into stopping their recount.

The face is familiar, but . . . .

Categories: , ,

| | Technorati Links | to Del.icio.us